Connectivism WK5

How has your network changed the way you learn?  If I compare how I learned twenty years ago and how I learn now, there is definitely a difference.  When I went to a class I took notes, copied notes off the blackboard, listened to lectures, read the books required for the classes, spoke with other students regarding what they understood about class assignments.  As time has passed the internet came to be a more prominent resource for everyone.  It allows almost instance access to a fast resource of information on endless topics.  Online learning, does not require a student to listen to lectures, or conform their schedule to attend a class at a specific time and date, there are no notes to copy although there is more reading required in some online classes.  Online learning usually is one class at a time for 5-8 weeks depending on your schools set-up.  This fast pace pressures a person to stay on top of the material – similar to a pre-session class at a traditional university.  This self-directed learning theory which requires an “individual takes on the responsibility for his/her learning process by identifying their learning needs, setting goals, finding resources, implementing strategies, and evaluating their results” (Conlan, J., Grabowski, S., & Smith, K. pg16) These pre-sessions are fast paced and you complete a semester in 6 weeks.  The information you are acquiring and adding to remains fresher in your mind as compared to if the same class information was presented over twelve weeks of a semester.  I find online learning similar to pre-session and requiring similar attention and new information is often more easily retrieved.  

Digital tools are great the availability of online information accessed through the computer, Ipad or IPhone help to facilitate learning for me.  I general Google a topic or question, then look at the different sites and compare the information for similarities and differences to try to determine if the information I am accessing appears valid. 

I gain new knowledge by reading through assigned material, asking questions of others who I believe have knowledge about a topic.  I also access the internet and search the topic.  I work at relating new information to knowledge I already possess and how that information coordinates, either agreeing or disagreeing with the new information.  Which I guess when you are talking about connectivism my learning would be a combination of “Learning as an Acquisitional Process” which is described as “The focus on the individual, and particularly that person/s conscious, rational activities of perceiving, interpreting, categorizing and storing knowledge.” (as described in Chapter 4, by Tara Fenwick & Mark Tennant of Understanding Adult Learners authored by Foley, G.)

I do agree that no one theory is a complete description of any one individual.  I believe most individuals could be described by different or parts of different theories depending on what they are learning and what previous experiences and knowledge they possess.

References

Conlan, J., Grabowski, S., & Smith, K. (2003). Adult Learning in M. Orey (Ed.) on learning, teaching and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Adult_Learning

Foley, G. (2004). Dimensions of adult learning: Adult education and in a global era. McGraw-Hill Education. In , pp. 55-73). [This title is available in eBooks area of the Walden Library]. Retrieved http://site.ebrary.com/lib/waldenu/docPrint.action?encrypted=clfld52

Leave a comment